The general aim of the National Reference Centre (CNR) for Toxoplasmosis is to respond to the needs expressed by health professionals, clinicians and biologists in terms of epidemiology and diagnosing toxoplasmosis in all its forms, along with supporting studies on treating and preventing congenital toxoplasmosis and toxoplasmosis in immunosuppressed patients.

  1. Missions contributing to monitoring:

When the CNR was created in 2006, one of the main objectives was to help evaluate the pertinence of the national prevention programme for the disease that has been in place in France since 1978. To that end, the InVS (National Health Monitoring Institute), along with the Epidemiology Pole of the CNR, proposed the establishment of a national monitoring system for congenital toxoplasmosis based on case notifications. This monitoring system was initiated in 2006 and has collected data from congenital toxoplasmosis cases in France since 2007.

One of the CNR’s objectives is to better understand the epidemiology of toxoplasmosis strains in metropolitan France and the overseas departments and territories (‘DOM-TOM’) and studying the biodiversity of T. gondii. To that end, the Strains Pole has been given the mission of collecting strains from clinical samples, characterizing them (clinically and genotyping), comparing them to strains circulating worldwide and, where necessary, alerting health monitoring authorities of the occurrence of these grouped cases due to identical or similar genotypes. Thanks to close collaboration with the National Reference Laboratory (LNR) ‘Parasites transmitted through food’ (AFFSA-LERPAZ), the CNR also carries out comparisons of human strains with those isolated in the environment (particularly strains isolated from animals implicated in transmitting the disease).

A Toxoplasma Biological Resources Centre (CRB) has been integrated in the CNR for Toxoplasmosis, in partnership with the Epidemiology and Strains Poles (including strains collected in the framework of the CNR in the CRB). With the Epidemiological Pole, the CRB contributes to studying the circulation of toxoplasmosis in humans and animals (especially for better identifying the sources of human infection).

Another objective of the CNR is to better identify the sources of toxoplasmosis transmission; currently we observe an absence of knowledge on the respective weight of the mode of transmission in cases of toxoplasma infection. No diagnostic method can make the distinction in foodborne contamination between that which is due to meat consumption (infection by cysts) and that which is due to vegetable consumption (infection by oocysts), or even the risk of waterborne infection (only the data of waterborne infections have been reported in the library). In 2009, an ANR (National Agency for Research) research programme (ALIA Programme, Protofood) was obtained to establish parasite detection techniques (Cryptosporidium, Giardia, Toxoplasma) within various food matrices. It is carried out by various CNR member laboratories under the responsibility of the Coordinating Laboratory.

  1. Alert missions:

The Reference Centres must transmit to the InVS and the DGS (Directorate General for Health) the identification of grouped cases of the illness; for this, centralizing data is necessary. The CNR participates within a national framework of network laboratories, establishing a summary of toxoplasmosis cases in collaboration with the InVS. Research in specific epidemiological conditions and toxoplasma strains that are genetically different from usual strains (and that are known to be associated with severe illnesses) all contribute to this alert mission.

  1. Advising mission:

It must be carried out by health professionals, particularly for better screening and updated prevention advice about transmission, diagnostic advice and treatment. A good practices guide is currently being drafted by the Serology Pole to ensure immunological diagnosis in the best conditions; it is destined mainly for private laboratories or general hospitals that consult university hospitals in cases of difficulties in interpretation or dating an infection, particularly in pregnant women. A good practices guide will also be drafted by the Molecular Biology Pole for laboratories that diagnose the disease with PCR, particularly for antenatal diagnosis of congenital toxoplasmosis.

Missions

Le CNR Toxoplasmose a pour objectif général de répondre aux besoins exprimés par les gestionnaires de santé, les cliniciens et les biologistes, en termes d’épidémiologie et de diagnostic de la toxoplasmose sous toutes ses formes, mais aussi de soutien aux études portant sur le traitement et la prévention de la toxoplasmose congénitale et de la toxoplasmose chez l’immunodéprimé.

a) Missions de contribution à la surveillance :

En 2006, lors de la création de ce CNR, un des objectifs majeurs était de contribuer à l’évaluation de la pertinence du programme national de prévention de cette maladie, programme instauré depuis 1978 en France. Pour cela, l’InVS en partenariat avec le Pôle Epidémiologie du CNR a proposé d’établir un système de surveillance national de la toxoplasmose congénitale basé sur une notification des cas. Ce système de surveillance a été initié en 2006 et recueille les données des cas de toxoplasmoses congénitales en France depuis 2007.

Un des objectifs du CNR est de mieux connaître l’épidémiologie des souches de  toxoplasmes en France métropolitaine et DOM-TOM et d’étudier ainsi la biodiversité de T. gondii. Pour cela, le Pôle Souches est en charge de collecter les souches issues des prélèvements cliniques, de les caractériser (d’un point de vue clinique et génotypique), les comparer aux souches circulant dans le monde et le cas échéant, alerter les autorités sanitaires de la survenue de cas groupés dus à des génotypes identiques ou voisins. Le CNR, grâce à une collaboration étroite avec le Laboratoire National de Référence (LNR) « Parasites transmis par les aliments » (AFSSA-LERPAZ) assure également une comparaison des souches humaines avec celles isolées dans l’environnement (notamment les souches isolées des animaux impliqués dans la transmission de la maladie).

Un Centre de Ressources Biologiques Toxoplasma est intégré au CNR de la Toxoplasmose, avec un partenariat entre le Pôle Epidémiologie et le Pôle Souches (inclusion des souches collectées dans le cadre du CNR dans le CRB). Avec le Pôle Epidémiologie, ce CRB contribue à l’étude de la circulation de la toxoplasmose chez l'homme et chez l’animal (notamment pour mieux identifier les sources de contamination humaine).

Un autre objectif du CNR est de mieux identifier les sources de transmission de la toxoplasmose ; en effet à l’heure actuelle nous constatons une absence de connaissance sur le poids respectif des modes de contamination en cas d’infection toxoplasmique. Aucun moyen diagnostic ne permet de faire la part dans la contamination alimentaire entre celle due à l’ingestion de viande (contamination par les kystes) et celle due à la consommation de végétaux (contamination par les oocystes), ou encore dans le risque de contamination hydrique (seulement des données d’infections d’origine hydrique rapportées dans la bibliographie). Un programme de recherche ANR (Programme ALIA, Protofood) a été obtenu en 2009 pour mettre en place des techniques de détection des parasites (Cryptosporidium, Giardia, Toxoplasma) dans différentes matrices alimentaires. Il est mené par différents laboratoires membres du CNR, sous la responsabilité du Laboratoire coordonnateur.

b) Mission d’alerte :

Les Centres de Référence doivent transmettre à l’InVS et la DGS l’identification de cas groupés de la maladie et pour cela une centralisation des données est nécessaire. Le CNR participe grâce au maillage national des laboratoires du réseau, à la mise en place d’un relevé des cas de toxoplasmoses en lien avec l’InVS. La recherche dans des conditions épidémiologiques particulières, de souches de toxoplasmes génétiquement différentes des souches usuelles (et que l’on sait associées à des pathologies sévères), participe à cette mission d’alerte.

c) Mission de conseil :

Elle doit être assurée aux professionnels de santé notamment pour un meilleur dépistage et des conseils actualisés de prévention sur la transmission, conseils sur le diagnostic et le traitement. Un guide des bonnes pratiques est en cours de rédaction par le Pôle Sérologie pour assurer le diagnostic immunologique dans les meilleurs conditions, il est destiné notamment aux laboratoires privés ou de CHG ayant recours aux laboratoires des CHU lors de difficultés d’interprétation ou de datation d’une infection en particulier chez la femme enceinte. Un guide des bonnes pratiques doit être également rédigé par le Pôle Biologie Moléculaire, destiné aux laboratoires prenant en charge le diagnostic de cette affection par PCR, en particulier dans le cadre du diagnostic anténatal de la toxoplasmose congénitale.